AFG Interschool Numero® Challenge

Download the 2017 registration flyer



Click register to enter your details online



This is a competition that has been running in Western Australian primary schools since 1998. It began with two divisions of 18 teams playing in qualification rounds before a final, and has steadily grown in numbers. In 2005, there were four qualifying rounds, and in 2006, due to increasing interest from country areas, one of the qualifying rounds was held at Geraldton, from which three teams qualified to compete at the final in Perth.

A Geraldton heat occurred again in 2007 (with 18 teams), while a qualifying heat was held at Esperance (with 12 teams), from which one team won a place in the final. The year 2008 saw this support for Numero® increase, with five qualifying heats, one each in Geraldton and Esperance, and three in Perth.

In 2009, the competition grew to include four Perth heats and two country heats, and in 2010 grew again to five Perth heats and three country heats (including Bunbury for the first time).

2011 saw the AFG Interschool Numero® Challenge continue to grow with ten heats, four in the country and six in Perth.  Geraldton, Esperance and Bunbury continued, with the addition of a heat in Manjimup, in the Warren-Blackwood region. 2012 has continued on with more schools participating in the existing ten heats. In 2013 the Challenge grew yet again, with a fifth heat in the country (a second Bunbury heat) and a seventh heat in the metropolitan area. This has altered slightly in recent years, with 2015/16 still having five country heats, but the locations now changing (Geraldton – 2 heats, Esperance – 1 heat, Bunbury – 2 heats).  The metropolitan heats remain at seven, giving a total of 12 heats for the year.

Teams compete for generous book prizes, at both heats and finals, while the winning teams in the final also win cash prizes for their school of $1000, $500 and $250 respectively.

Australian Finance Group (AFG)
Like Numero®, AFG originated here in WA, and, in fact, the Interschool Numero® Challenge is just one year younger than AFG. However, both have grown far beyond the boundaries of their state of origin. Numero® has spread, not only throughout English-speaking countries (including the UK, Ireland, New Zealand, USA and Canada), but also through SE Asia, Japan and Korea.

AFG has experienced spectacular growth and is Australia’s largest mortgage broker, and one of the faster growing holistic providers of financial services. We are honoured and proud to have developed this association with them, and have now had their support for nine years. It is thanks to AFG that schools compete for prizes at both heats and finals, with generous cash prizes awarded to the top three schools in the final. 2010 began the awarding of extra cash prizes, with first place winning $1000, second place $500 and third place $250.

R.I.C. Publications
R.I.C. Publications run this event and aside from the competition itself, also provide a voucher for $100 worth of educational products to each participating school.

Edwina Forward Engraving
Since the inception of this competition in 1998, Edwina Forward Engraving has provided all our trophies without charge. In 2007, they provided a new perennial shield, as well as engraved medallions for the winning team, to mark the 10th anniversary of the competition.

The AFG Interschool Numero® Challenge 2016

The 19th year of the Interschool Numero® Challenge saw ever increasing interest from WA schools.

The twelve heat winners (in alphabetical order) were: Adam Road Allstars, Aranmore Dividers, Bletchley Park Number Ninjas, Castletown Mathematical Marbles, Collier Mathletes, Excelsior Numerators, Manning Numbats, Mt Tarcoola Trouble, Pemberton Numero Ninjas, Regent Num, St John’s Decimal Destroyers and West Greenwood Warriors.

The remaining six places in the final went to the next highest scoring teams (in alphabetical order): Belmay Brighties, E=Excelsior Squared, Hocking Takers, MBC Allstars, Ranford Fireballs and Ranford Rockets.

Champions 2016

From left to right: Lindsay Hale (Department of Education WA), Julie Richards (R.I.C. Publications), Rhonda Parker (Alzheimer’s Australia WA) and Seamus McGuinness (R.I.C. Publications).

Winners: Excelsior Primary School (Daichi, Lauren, Mikayla and Callum)

Excelsior Primary School walked away with their fifth win in succession, extending their winning streak! The previous three triple winning schools are Duncraig Primary School, Forrestdale Primary School and Ranford Primary School. This Numero® final was held at Belmay Primary School.

Second place was taken out by Hocking Primary School, with third going to Aranmore Catholic Primary School – best ever results for both of these schools. The remaining placegetters acknowledged on the day were Excelsior Primary School in fourth, Mandurah Baptist College in fifth and Ranford Primary School wrapping up sixth position.

VIP Presenters: Our special guest on the day was Mr Brett McKeon, Managing Director of Australian Finance Group (AFG), who were the sponsors of the event for the tenth year in succession.

As Brett was unable to stay until the end, Phillippa Gillett, Principal of Belmay Primary School, presented the prizes on his behalf, for position winners, as well as the trophies to our winning team from Excelsior Primary School. We are extremely grateful for the ongoing support of AFG and look forward to their continued association with Numero® in WA.

Our other guests included Mr Lindsay Hale, Executive Director Statewide Services, Department of Education WA; Ms Rhonda Parker, Chief Executive Officer, Alzheimer’s Australia WA; and Mr Seamus McGuinness, Managing Director, R.I.C. Publications.